Magical Superpowers I Don’t Have

Why is it that I struggle to keep up with some people who seem to be effortlessly gliding along?

I used to park and walk a mile to work, and after a while I began to recognise people: same people doing the same thing at the same time each day.

A young slim girl in high heels would walk on the other side of the road from me – going in the same direction – and I would (without her knowing, of course) race her to the pedestrian crossing. I would be Olympic-style speed walking – heart pumping, muscles protesting, long strides and really going for it.  She, on the other hand, appeared to saunter – and would edge ahead so gracefully and easily. I began to resent her.

You’d think that, with daily practice, my walking speed would improve – or at least my effort would reduce in line with my recovery period as I got fitter and better at it. But no. If I was getting fitter and better, so was she. Dammit.

This is why I have formed a personal theory that walking, running, jumping, dancing and strength are all magical powers that have very little to do with nutrition, body type, sporting regimes or determination.

I have thus, reluctantly, come to terms with the fact that this sort of thing is just not my superpower.

One thought on “Magical Superpowers I Don’t Have

Leave a Reply

