Pranking Mother

One April 1st I called up my mother.

“Hello?” she answered

“Good afternoon, madam, we believe that you have recently had an aerial installed?”

“Yes, it was yesterday.”

“Ah, yes, that’s what our records show, can you confirm the number of outlets please?”

“Well I have three or four I think…”

“OK, madam, I do not wish to cause you any concern, but as a safety precaution, until our operatives arrive, could you please exit the premises at his time.”

“Why what is it? What’s wrong?”

“It’s too early to say, but could you please leave the premises right away, madam?”

“But my daughter has a new installation. I put the men that did mine onto her. They are there today. Should I ring her up?”

“No, no madam, now could you please hang up and leave the house as soon as you can; our operatives are on their way.”

“click”

“Hello – mother? Mum? are you there?”

” ”

Well it seems that my mother did hang up and go into the garden to await “operatives”. I tried ringing her again, but it rang out.

She was very put out to discover later that it was a daft April Fool prank. She stood in the garden in the rain for 20 minutes. I felt bad.

We never spoke of it again.

I never pranked my mother again.

2 thoughts on “Pranking Mother

Leave a Reply

